WEEK 54 Seaford, East Sussex to Margate, Kent

121 miles walked

(total 3,276 miles walked)

I think this might be the most mileage I’ve walked in a week. What a varied week, passing through so many towns with tales to tell. This was the week I travelled through the ancient Cinque Ports (Hastings, New Romney, Hythe, Dover and Sandwich), established in 1155 by Royal Charter to maintain ships for the King in return for trade privileges. 

The De La Warr Pavilion, Bexhill-on-Sea
My overriding feeling was that I walked too far, too fast and didn’t do it justice. There was always more to see and experience than I could fit in. Why did I cover so much ground? Mainly I think it was because I was struggling to find campsites (or other accommodation) that I felt was reasonably priced. I was finding the SE less friendly, very expensive and, of course, I was also suffering from the ground rush that comes with nearing the finish line. 

Fishermen’s Huts, Hastings
I found myself probably more frustrated this week than I had been for a long time, and yet there were still so many highlights. 

Seven Sisters Country Park
This week’s natural world highlights included a naked rambler (Seven Sisters), a grass snake (White Cliffs Country Park), a kingfisher (Royal Military Canal), and the stunning beauty of the Seven Sisters, Cuckmere Haven and the White Cliffs of Dover.  

a grass snake
The Sussex and Kent coastline that I walked this week is the closest to mainland Europe and was very heavily fortified in the 1800s. Some of the 74 Martello Towers that were built along this coastline still remain, as well as forts, redoubts and the Royal Military Canal. Napoleon really had us worried!

another Martello Tower, Eastbourne
I spent much of the week following long distance footpaths, mainly the Saxon Shore Way but also the Royal Military Canal Path, the North Downs Way and the Thanet Coastal Path. I began the week with white cliffs and ended it the same way, taking in the flat coastline in between. 

One thought on “WEEK 54 Seaford, East Sussex to Margate, Kent

  1. Ruth Livingstone May 30, 2017 / 9:50 pm

    A fantastic adventure and I admire your perseverance. Wondering if you’d finished the coast, Lucy?

    Like

Leave a comment