Day 21 Holkham Beach

Sunday 26 April 2015

Wells-next-the-Sea to Burnham Deepdale
15 miles
Burnham Deepdale Backpackers Campsite

Breakfast wasn’t served until 8 am by the old lady (who is 80). From the limited menu I chose poached eggs on toast. Mistake. It’s like going back in time to the 70s.  

yum…not!
Still, the old lady was nice and she’s been running the B&B for 40 years (I don’t think she’s changed anything). She told me not to come to Wells in the summer as it’s too crowded. I think I’ll take her advice. 

The miniature train wasn’t running so I walked the kilometre down to the beach, and what a beach. Holkham beach is famous for its vast expanse of sand, used by the Cavalry who bring their horses on holiday here. The beach is sheltered from Westerly winds by a pine forest, there are old fashioned beach huts and then there is nothing but beautiful sand and sea.  

beach huts and pine forest at Holkham beach
 
the upper class out with their horses
I watched some horses canter down the beach and then followed them down through the gap leading to Holkham Park and Hall. I decided to see if I could improve on my first breakfast with a stop at The Victoria, the inn owned by The Earl of Leicester’s estate. It was an improvement.  

my 2nd breakfast at The Victoria, Holkham Estate
I retraced my steps back to Holkham beach and continued along and then around the corner into Overy Marshes. There were no people here, just the birds to keep me company. I heard a bittern booming from within the reeds, and was serenaded by the constant wireless tuning sound of the lapwings. At one point the marshes reminded me of the giant weather map that GMTV used to have (anyone who was a student in the 90s would know about this).  

GMTV weather map of the Highlands?
 After about 5 miles of walking alongside the marshes and the creek I arrived at Burnham Deepdale backpackers campsite about half an hour after the sun came out. I have become an expert at pitching my tent and then washing and drying my walking clothes before heading to the nearest pub complete with puffy jacket and flip flops. Good job I don’t care what I look like!

Thanks Spike for the recommendation of the Jolly Sailor. It does good beer and pizzas. 

9 thoughts on “Day 21 Holkham Beach

  1. jomunday99 April 26, 2015 / 9:51 pm

    Second breakfast looks awesome! I like your style!

    Like

  2. vaneesaa April 26, 2015 / 9:52 pm

    Lots of eating on this trip…

    Like

    • Lucy April 27, 2015 / 5:31 am

      Hi Ness. Lots of eating required as I’ve lost almost a stone of weight. Although I have 1.5 stones to give away after 2 months of après ski

      Like

  3. jomunday99 April 26, 2015 / 9:54 pm

    Just checked the map to see where you are – impressive! Looking ahead – how far inland do you have to go to get across the Humber? Looks tricky!

    Like

    • Lucy April 27, 2015 / 5:32 am

      Hmmm, don’t know. Will have to look at that

      Like

  4. Chris Frazer April 27, 2015 / 3:48 am

    Well done Juice……I concur with Spike….Jolly Sailor is an excellent pub…….

    Burnham is a lovely toŵn….too

    If you think that the marshes looked like the weather map you wait til you get to The Wash……moonscape!

    How are the boots?

    Like

    • Lucy April 27, 2015 / 5:33 am

      Boots are good thanks.

      Like

  5. George April 27, 2015 / 10:52 am

    Wow the pictures from yesterday look amazing, stunning scenery and I’ve never contemplated a second breakfast before but thats certainly going to change.
    We missed you at Aunt Sally training last night, although sam did turn up in his navy uniform, tbh, the uniform didnt help much!!

    Like

    • Lucy April 28, 2015 / 5:25 am

      Second breakfasts are the way ahead for sure. I shall be tuning in to BBC Sport throughout the summer hoping for updates on how you’re getting on in S Oxfordshire Div 3 (or whatever league we’re in). Good job you’re not required to throw sticks at

      Like

Leave a comment